Events

August

Saturday 27th August

Patterdale Dog Day - A small show ran on the Saturday of the August Bank Holiday weekend and is centred around an open sheep dog trials competition. As well as the dog trial there are many other attractions and shows to keep you entertained throughout the day.

Sunday 28th August

Grasmere Lakeland Sports and Show - One of the most popular traditional events in the English Lake District, participants compete in a variety of sports, including Cumberland Wrestling, Fell Running and Hound Trails.

Saturday 27th - Sunday 28th August

Lakes Alive - a new cultural festival for Cumbria in the theme of flight. Rediscover open spaces and hidden corners of Kendal as they are international artists through installation and performance.

Monday 29th August

Keswick Agricultural Show - The Keswick Agricultural Society was founded in 1860 and attracts a large number of competitors, exhibitors and spectators.

September

Thursday 1st September

Hill Top Showcase Tours - As part of our 150th Anniversary Celebrations in 2016, this unique after-hours tour is perfect for Beatrix Potter fans; it's a chance to have exclusive access to the house and get up close to items from the collection.

Saturday 3rd September

Chillswim at Coniston - Is a mass participation, fully supported swim the full 5.25 miles length of Coniston Water.

Sunday 4th September

Helvellyn Triathlon - One of the toughest triathlons in the world - Swim in crystal clear Ullswater, Cycle includes the infamous "Struggle" to the top of the Kirkstone Pass (1489ft) and then run and down Hellvellyn (3118ft)

Monday 5th September

Tour to Britain - Some of the world's top cyclists will compete in a stage from Carlisle to Kendal, taking in Pooley Bridge, Keswick, Cockermouth and Whinlatter Pass.

Thursday 8th September

Westmorland Show - The Westmorland County Show is one of the largest one day Shows in the Country and certainly one of the oldest, given that the Society was founded in 1799 and is still going from strength to strength 215 Shows later.

Thursday 8th September

Beatrix Potter's Landscape Cruise and Walk - A scenic and informational walk and talk through Monk Coniston estate to the iconic Tarn Hows, returning via Monk Coniston for afternoon tea before re-boarding the Gondola back to Coniston Pier. Booking is Essential

Saturday 10th - Sunday 25th September

C- Art Open Studios

Friday 16th & Saturday 17th September

World Gurning Championship and Egremont Crab Fair

Saturday & Sunday 25th September

Taste Cumbria at Cockermouth - With over 80 stalls, chef demonstrations and family fun, it really is the highlight of the Taste festival season. Main Street will be packed with stalls selling food, drink and lots of pretty things for your table. There’ll be gifts galore, and food to eat on the spot.

October

Friday 14th - Sunday 16th October

Lakes International Comic Art Festival - is the only one of its kind in the UK taking over the whole town of Kendal, on the edge of the Lake District, for a weekend. On his visit in 2013 internationally - renowned comic artists, Joe Sacco, said it was an "important moment in British comics".

Friday 28th - Saturday 29th October

Ghost Trains at Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway - Back with more fiendish tricks than ever in 2016! Feeling brave? Travel the line in darkness and keep those eyes peeled for some of our fiendish friends! Travel on services all day, but make sure you reserve your special seat on the Ghost Train from Dalegarth.

Saturday 29th - Sunday 20th October

Kendal Wool Gathering - mixes demonstrations, fun activities and displays, all connected to the cloth on which the town’s wealth was built.

November

Saturday 5th November 

Fireworks at Bitts Park, Carlisle

Thursday 17th - Sunday 20th November

Kendal Mountain Festival - The UK's premier mountain film festival. It is an award-winning and the most diverse event of its type in the world.

Saturday 19th November

Ambleside Lights Switch On - The annual Ambleside Christmas lights switch-on involves a Father Christmas cruise followed by a parade through the Lake District town at dusk, featuring hundreds of paper lanterns

Saturday 26th - Sunday 27th November

Ulverston Dickensian Festival - This is the seventeenth year of the Dickensian Christmas Festival, one of the most popular Dickensian Festival events in the country.

December

Thursday 1st - Saturday 24th December 

Keswick Live Advert 

Saturday 3rd - Thursday 22nd December

Santa Express at Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway - Come and enjoy a magical journey on-board the 'Santa Express' to meet Father Christmas and explore his Dalegarth grotto.

Exploding with life, music, special effects, dance and show-stopping songs, this world premier stars Beatrix Potter as the story teller alongside some of her favourite characters: Jemima Puddle-duck, Mr Tod, Mr Brock, Jeremy Fisher, Mrs Tiggy-winkle and of course, the world’s famous rabbit, Peter. - See more at: http://www.hop-skip-jump.com/events/event/where-is-peter-rabbit/#sthash.3r834Jgi.dpuf

Annual Country Shows

Saturday 3rd August: Gosforth Show

Wednesday 3rd August: Cartmel Show

Tuesday 9th August: Lunesdale Show

Thursday 11th August: Appleby Agricultural Show

Saturday 13th and Sunday 14th August: Lowther Show

Sunday 21st August: Lakeland Country Fair, Torver

Tuesday 23rd August: Hawkshead Show

Saturday 27th August: Patterdale Dog Day

Saturday 27th August: Millom & Broughton Agricultural Show

Sunday 28th August: Grasmere Lakeland Sports and Show

Monday 29th August: Keswick Agricultural Show

Thursday 8th September: Westmorland County Show

Sunday 18th September: Borrowdale Shepherds' Meet and Show

Saturday 24th September: Eskdale Show

 

What's On

Events from
Mon 1 - Wed 31 Aug ‘Marvellous Minibeasts’ family trail at RSPB Leighton Moss Nature Reserve
Thu 25 Aug Antique & Collectors Fair at Pooley Bridge
Thu 25 Aug Archery at Ullswater Holiday Park
Sat 20 - Sun 28 Aug Art @ Blindcrake at Keswick
Sat 12 Mar - Sun 30 Oct Beatrix Potter: Romance and Realism at Beatrix Potter Gallery
Thu 11 Aug - Sun 9 Oct Channelling Ruskin Exhibition at Brantwood, Home of John Ruskin
Fri 29 Jul - Sun 4 Sep Chris Keenan: "stuff i live with; stuff i love" at Blackwell, The Arts & Craft House
Thu 25 Aug Dial M for Murder at Theatre by the Lake
Sat 20 Aug - Sun 4 Sep Doremifasolasido at Florence Mine Arts Centre
Thu 25 - Fri 26 Aug Elektra at Theatre by the